Edmonton's largest Islamic school, part of the Al Rashid Foundation ecosystem alongside the Al Rashid Mosque. Founded 1987 - its own history page records the school starting with 21 students in the basement of a mosque, a new campus in 2006, and the first Islamic high school in Western Canada opening six years later with over 200 students enrolled before it opened. Now 'more than 1400 students from Preschool to Grade 12'; the enrolment field records 1400 as the published floor. Follows 'the province of Alberta Programs of Study in all of its core subjects: Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies and Early Literacy', with Islamic, Quranic and Arabic studies added. Alberta ACCREDITS private schools (it does not register or inspect them the way Ontario does); the school's own site does not state its accreditation status, so that field is left unconfirmed. 'Qur'anic Memorization' is listed as one of three foundational areas of the Islamic program, but no dedicated full hifz stream is described, so hifz is left unconfirmed. Co-educational status is not stated anywhere on the site. Also runs 'Bloom Islamic Academy', a home-education program, and is building a new elementary campus which the foundation describes as aiming to be 'the largest private elementary school in Canada (in progress)'. Tuition range recorded is the lowest and highest published annual figures across all grades and member/non-member rates - see tuition_note for the full grid.
At a glance
Tuition
2026-2027 published schedule (member / non-member): Preschool & part-time Kindergarten $3,700 / $4,200; full-time Kindergarten $7,400 / $7,900; Grades 1-9 first child $5,250 / $5,750, second child $4,800 / $5,300, third and fourth child $4,500 / $5,000; Grades 10-12 first child $5,750 / $6,250. Plus a $100 non-refundable new-student application fee, $5,000 non-refundable capital project fee for new families, $250 volunteer fee if hours are not completed, $100 technology fee and $50 yearbook fee per family, and $60-$120 resource fees by grade. Busing $120-$200 per child north side, $145-$245 south side. Tuition changes yearly and discounts for siblings are common — confirm the current figure with the school before budgeting.
Programs & standing
Facilities & community services
At the school
- main campus at 14525 127 Street NW, Edmonton
- school buses serving north-side and south-side routes
- Edmonton Islamic Academy Elementary Campus (New School Project, in development, described by the Al Rashid Foundation as aiming to be 'the largest private elementary school in Canada (in progress)')
Services the community can ask for
- full-time Islamic day school, Preschool to Grade 12, following 'the province of Alberta Programs of Study in all of its core subjects: Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies and Early Literacy'
- Qur'anic memorization as one of three foundational areas of the Islamic program
- Bloom Islamic Academy home-education program
Listed from the organisation’s own material. A service not listed here isn’t necessarily unavailable — call the office and ask.
About Edmonton Islamic Academy (EIA)
The academy's own history page states that 'The Edmonton Islamic Academy (EIA) was established in 1987 in the basement of the Al-Rashid Mosque with 21 students' and that 'to date, more than 1400 students from Preschool to Grade 12 attend the Academy.' Its charity, EDMONTON ISLAMIC SCHOOL SOCIETY (895761989RR0001), was registered effective 1989-10-12 at 14525 127 St NW - the school's own address - two years after it opened. It sits inside the Al Rashid Foundation of Canada ecosystem alongside the Al Rashid Mosque, the Imam Al Shatibi Quran Institute and the Edmonton Islamic Daycare & Pre-school, and the foundation also holds a separate charity, Al Rashid Education Foundation (835441031RR0001, registered 2018-11-08), whose CRA address is the mosque's rather than the school's.
From the organisation’s own pages, checked 16 Aug 2026 — see the sources below.
What we haven’t confirmed
We could not establish: co-ed or single-sex, hifz program, credit-granting status, before/after care. Those are published as gaps rather than filled with a plausible guess. If you know the answer — especially if you are from this organisation — tell us and we will verify and update the listing.
Where to go next
Sources for this listing
Every factual claim on this page traces to a source below. Details change — check the original source before relying on any figure, fee or legal position.
- School Fees – Edmonton Islamic Academy — islamicacademy.ca
- Contact Us – Edmonton Islamic Academy — islamicacademy.ca
- Edmonton Islamic Academy – Home — islamicacademy.ca
- Our History - Edmonton Islamic Academy (founding year, enrolment) — islamicacademy.ca
- Islamic Program - Edmonton Islamic Academy — islamicacademy.ca
- CRA Charities Listings - EDMONTON ISLAMIC SCHOOL SOCIETY (BN 895761989RR0001, registered 1989-10-12, mailing address 14525 127 St NW, Edmonton AB T6V0B3) — apps.cra-arc.gc.ca
- CRA Charities Listings - Al Rashid Education Foundation (BN 835441031RR0001, registered 2018-11-08, mailing address 13070 113 St NW, Edmonton - the mosque, not the school) — apps.cra-arc.gc.ca